Need an ignition lock installed?
Need an ignition lock installed?
We can help.
Spanish contact request
By clicking the button below, you agreeConsumer Safety Technology, LLCand its subsidiary, Breathe Easy Insurance Solutions, LLC, by calling and texting the telephone number provided, regardless of the time of day, to promote the purchase or rental of DUI-related products and services, including through the use of automated technology, artificial language and/or pre-recorded media. Consent is not a condition of purchase.
Same day installation
$72 - $115 per month
Easy to use
a button to activate
O programa AZ Ignition Interlock
In Arizona, anyone over the age of 21 who is caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above 0.08% is at risk of being charged with a DUI. First, second and third offenders receive license locks of varying lengths and are required to install aignition interlock device.
AZ IID Request Form
What happens if I get a DUI in Arizona?
AZ DUI laws include several penalties for a DUI in Arizona. This includes license revocation and other penalties. Some of these are financial in nature, others require court-ordered community service. Effective January 1, 2023, Arizona has made changes to DUI penalties. Here are the current penalties for an AZ DUI:
- 24 hours to 10 days in jail
- 90 days to one year license suspension
- A 30-day temporary driver's license will be issued in place of the suspended driver's license
- Violators may apply for a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver's License, or SIIRDL, in lieu of having their driving privileges suspended. You must meet the criteria to qualify for the SIIRDL to receive it.
- $1,250 fine
- An ignition interlock device that meets Arizona state criteria is required if SIIRDL is granted
- The violator waives the right to a hearing to challenge the suspension of his license if an SIIRDL is granted
- If the offender's SIIRDL application is granted prior to sentencing, he will be credited with the time his IID has already been installed and will count towards the sentencing requirements
- If the offender has a high BAC (above 0.08 percent), he faces additional penalties of at least 30 days in jail and a fine of $2,500.
- 30-90 days in jail
- One year license revocation
- Minimum fine of US$3,000
- Arizona approved ignition interlock device required for restricted license
- at least four months in prison
- pay a minimum fine of $3,000
- have your license revoked for one year
- An ignition lock that meets state criteria is required for a restricted license
In addition to these penalties, the AZ DUI laws state that an offender may need to enroll in additional drug treatment or education programs. There is a list of information and approved bodies available atif you need to take a course. The court may also prescribe a specific course, so check that information as well.
What happens if I fail or refuse to take a DUI test in Arizona?
If you refuse to take a test, your license may be revoked for one year and an IID may be required for the revocation period. Additionally, you may be required to undergo drug and alcohol screening before your driver's license is reissued. If you've already committed a DUI offense, these penalties can go up to 120 days in jail and a fine of $3,250.
How do I get a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver's License (SIIRDL) in Arizona?
Effective January 1, 2023, Arizona will allow first-time offenders to apply for an SIIRDL in lieu of a driver suspension. This means that if your driver's license is suspended but you need to drive, you can do so if you install an IID and obtain an SIIRDL. To qualify for an SIIRDL, offenders must:
- May not have caused death or serious injury during the DUI incident
- Must have no previous DUI-related convictions in the last 9 years
- Must have completed the required drug or alcohol screening
- If the SIIRDL is granted, the offender waives his right to a driver's license challenge hearing
- To obtain the SIIRDL, the offender must install a lockout device that meets Arizona State criteria
- It must meet all other legally required criteria, e.g. B. Paying all fines, royalties, obtaining necessities, and complying with all court orders
SIIRDL is designed to help drivers regain their driving privileges. It is only available to first time defendants. Other offenders may be eligible for a restricted driver's license, which limits where they can drive to approved locations such as school, work, doctor's appointments, and other necessary locations.
To obtain a limited license, infringers must:
- Please allow 30 days of mandatory embargo period
- contactDepartment of Vehicles (MVD)online or by phone to confirm eligibility
- Install a Certified Arizonaignition lock deviceand the MVD to verify the installation
- Complete all mandatory alcohol treatment programs and submit proof of completion to the MVD
- Submit an SR-22 Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Certificate
- Pay all applicable fees (no personal checks)
Let us help you get started. Talk to a government expert today
Intoxalock AZ locking devices
Ignition interlock devices are required by law in Arizona. In many cases, the length of time an offender must have the device is specified by law, but the court may extend or require the device time when the law does not require it. Drivers can also voluntarily obtain one if they need help maintaining sobriety.
What is an ignition interlock device?
An Ignition Interlock Device, or IID, is a small device installed in your vehicle that:
- Prevents you from starting the car when you're drinking
- Requires you to retest your breath alcohol content (BrAC) while traveling to ensure continued sobriety
How long does an AZ interlock device need?
The law determines how long you must use an IID, but the court can extend the time. The only way to confirm that you have permission to remove the device is to check with your surveillance agency.
- 1. Infraction: Up to 24 months, depending on conviction
- 2. Infraction: 12 to 24 months, depending on conviction
Ignition Interlock-Kosten no Arizona
If your penalty includes the mandatory installation of an ignition interlock, it means that you will pay for it yourself. IIDs are leased, not directly purchased. All costs for the ignition lock must be borne by the driver.
How much does an IID cost?
- Prices vary depending on your monitoring needs, but are generally between $2 and $3 per day.
- Intoxalock also offers DPP+, a damage protection plan for your device, for $10 per month.
- A state expert can help confirm pricing options for you.
*Your facility is covered for up to $100 after mail-in reimbursement with a minimum 6-month lease period. Offer valid for Arizona customers only. This offer cannot be combined with any other offer and does not apply to voluntary rentals.
Why choose IntoxalockArizona?
Arizona Ignition Interlock Installation
find a certificateArizona Ignition Interlock Installernear you We have 111 locations across Arizona, so finding one near you should be easy. IIDs require a certified technician to complete the installation and our certified technicians will guide you through the device
show all locations
Arizona DUI Lawyers
With a team dedicated to finding experienced Arizona DUI attorneys, Intoxalock works to make your Ignition Interlock experience as easy as possible. Call today to learn more about our partner attorneys and get the support you need to find the best DUI attorney in your area.
More DUI Lawyers in Arizona
Lloyd Law Group LLC
113 E Grenzstrasse
Feldman Royle, Attys At Law, PLLC
Central Avenue, 2828 N
2828 N Central Avenue Ste 1203
2601 E Thomasstrasse ?
The Law Firm of David M Cantor
40 N CENTRAL AVE, SUITE 2300
Alcock & Associates, PC
Center-North Avenue 2
Central Avenue 2 N Fl
Horan Law Office
10930 North Tatum Boulevard., Suite C106
Harris & Winger, PC
6 E. Aspen Avenue
AJB Law Firm, LLC
Avenida N. Stone, 149, 3. Stock
Law Offices Anca Iacob
PO Box 11531
Mention code AZOFFER for free installation and free promotions for the first month. The customer must pay the installation cost of the ignition interlock at the installation site at the time of installation. The installation site will provide a discount form and upon payment, the customer's account will be credited for the installation up to $100. Specialty vehicles may incur higher ignition interlock installation fees. Free credit for the first month is deducted from the initial costs. Free installation valid only with rental contracts of at least six months. First month free for all customers. Does not apply to voluntary hire agreements. Arizona customers only. It can not be combined with other offers.
This information is intended as a guide only. Each case will be different.
Would you rather speak with a government expert?
Call now at 888-369-1021
State law requires installation and maintenance of an interlock when your driving privilege is limited or restricted after being convicted of a certain alcohol- and/or drug-related violation (see Arizona Revised Statutes 28-1381, 28-1382, 28-1383, 28-1402, 28-1461 and 28-3319).What is the BAC limit for intoxalock in Arizona? ›
If the interlock detects alcohol on the breath, the engine will not start. This measures your breath alcohol content (BAC) level. You'll only be able to start your vehicle if your BAC level is under 0.020.Can I get my interlock device removed early in AZ? ›
Here are the requirements for early termination:
You were convicted of a first-time regular DUI (i.e., BAC less than 0.15). If you were convicted of an Extreme or Super Extreme DUI, then you are not eligible for this program. 2. You successfully completed 16 hours of an alcohol education program.
Failed/missed rolling retest – all drivers receive a violation after 3 failed/missed rolling retests. This includes turning off your vehicle while the ignition interlock device is requesting a sample, either intentionally or by mistake. This violation results in a six-month extension.What happens if you refuse a breathalyzer in Arizona? ›
Under Arizona's Implied Consent law A.R.S. 28-1321 a refusal of breathalyzer, blood, or urine tests subject to Arizona DUI laws results in a one year suspension of driving privileges. For a second refusal within 84 months, the driving suspension is for a period of 2 years.Can you get around an Interlock Device? ›
Tampering with your Intoxalock device or attempting to bypass your breathalyzer connections is considered as being out of compliance with your IID requirements. This means that you're no longer driving legally. Clearly, this can result in more legal consequences for you.How many drinks is 0.08 breathalyzer? ›
Standard Drinks and BAC
For every one drink, your BAC goes up by about 0.02 percent, so reaching a BAC of 0.08 percent takes about four to five drinks.
In Arizona, if you are 21-years-old or older, you can receive a DUI charge if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is above . 08% (commercial vehicle driver - . 04%, under 21 - 0.00%).Is .08 bad on a breathalyzer? ›
08 is too high. And in fact, many countries around the world do employ lower BAC limits for drunk driving. Note too that you can be convicted of impaired driving even if your blood alcohol is lower than . 08.How long is an interlock required in Arizona? ›
Duration of the Ignition Interlock Program
For a first offense, you are only required to have the device for 12 months. However, if you have a “super extreme” BAC level of . 20 or higher, you will have to have the device for 18 months.
Place the device in a shoebox or bag where you can thread the cord (if your device has one) through the bottom of the box or bag. You can store the device in the center console. This will hide it from public view. You can also just cover the device and cord with a sweater or jacket, or even a magazine.What is a special ignition interlock restricted driver license in Arizona? ›
If you are convicted of a driving under the influence (DUI) offense or related violation in Arizona, you may be eligible for a special ignition interlock restricted driver license (SIIRDL). This is a driver's license with specific restrictions given alongside an ignition interlock device.What can cause your interlock to say fail? ›
You can fail an IID breath test for one of several reasons. It might be that you used an alcohol-based mouthwash, or fermentation has turned a bit of fruit juice in your mouth to alcohol. Even the fermentation of yeast in bread or pizza dough could supply an alcohol molecule or two, could be enough to cause a fail.What is a fail safe interlock? ›
An interlock where the failure of a single mechanical or electrical component of the interlock will cause the system to go into, or remain in, a safe mode.What does fail mean on a interlock device? ›
A fail message on your Ignition Interlock Device means that alcohol is detected at or above your state's specific fail level. It may not mean that you are at the violation level indicated in your state's standards. For initial tests, you will not be able to start your vehicle.What is the statute of limitations on a DUI in Arizona? ›
After you are arrested for a DUI, the prosecutor has 1 year to charge you for a misdemeanor DUI and 7 years to charge you for a felony DUI. This rule comes from Arizona's statute of limitations. If the prosecutor does not file a case within those timeframes, then the DUI cannot be charged. Need Legal Help?Do you have the right to refuse a field sobriety test in Arizona? ›
Arizona drivers have the right to refuse a field sobriety test (FST), although this refusal may lead to arrest on suspicion of DUI (driving under the influence). Additionally, prosecution uses this refusal against you if your case goes to court, typically claiming your refusal proves you feared failing the test.Are breathalyzers admissible in court Arizona? ›
PLEASE NOTE: Intoxilyzer test results are admissible in court. In spite of this, portable breathalyzers are still crucial to DUI cases and are an often used tool used by police to establish probable cause and lead to an initial arrest for DUI.Does interlock record sound? ›
Is the Device Recording Me? The answer to this very commonly asked question is an emphatic no. The camera on an interlock device is not capable of recording video; it is merely snapping a photo any time a person provides a breath sample.Is the intoxalock camera always on? ›
An ignition interlock camera only takes pictures at designated times. Typically when a user is powering up the interlock, taking the test, and starting the vehicle. Those photos are downloaded with the other ignition interlock data at the regular monitoring and calibration appointment.
- How does an IID work? ...
- Have a friend blow into the IID. ...
- Mask the alcohol by eating food or mints. ...
- Use compressed air, such as air from a balloon. ...
- Consume caffeine. ...
- Temporarily remove the IID.
How Fast Can You Sober Up? Alcohol leaves the body at an average rate of 0.015 g/100mL/hour, which is the same as reducing your BAC level by 0.015 per hour. For men, this is usually a rate of about one standard drink per hour.Is 1.3 alcohol level high? ›
0.10 – 0.12% – Obvious physical impairment and loss of judgment. Speech may be slurred. 0.13 – 0.15% – At this point, your blood alcohol level is quite high. You'll be affected by blurred vision, loss of coordination and balance, and potentially dysphoria (anxiety or restlessness).What will your BAC be if you drink 3 beers in 1 hour? ›
After a man has three standard drinks, the equation changes even further: At 100 pounds, a man will have a BAC of 0.11. If he drinks them over one hour, he will have a BAC of 0.10, and if he drinks them over two hours, he will have a BAC of 0.08.Is Arizona strict about DUI? ›
Arizona Legal Limit
Arizona has strict limits regarding the amount of alcohol consumption allowed when operating a vehicle. If your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is above . 08% in the state of Arizona, you will receive a DUI.
The legal limit for DUI charges in Arizona is . 08% Blood Alcohol Content or BAC. However, under Arizona law a driver can also be arrested for DUI charges for BAC below . 08%, (the legal limit). This charge is called "impaired to the slightest degree".Are Arizona DUI laws strict? ›
What makes Arizona DUI laws particularly strict? It's not only the penalties, but also what can be considered grounds for a DUI charge. As a zero tolerance state, you can be charged if your BAC is lower than 0.08 and the officer believes you were impaired.Can you fail a breathalyzer 12 hours after drinking? ›
In some cases, the breathalyzer may detect alcohol for up to 12 hours. In other individuals, the breathalyzer test may work for twice that long. Although the average person metabolizes about 1 alcoholic drink per hour, this rate varies.What is the highest breathalyzer ever blown? ›
1.480 BAC. After a car crash that resulted in serious injuries, a Polish man's BAC was taken and it was 1.480%. That's the highest BAC ever recorded in known history. Doctors said he survived his brush with death due to drinking, but he later died due to his injuries from the car crash.What type of food slows down alcohol absorption? ›
Foods high in protein and healthy fats, like yogurt and salmon, can help slow alcohol absorption. Avocados and bananas also contain plenty of potassium, which you might lose after drinking.
The Cost of an Interlock Device in Arizona
Installation: The cost of installing an IID in your vehicle typically ranges from $70 to $150. Some providers may offer discounts or promotions to help reduce this cost. Monthly Lease: Most IIDs are leased, with monthly fees ranging from $60 to $100.
Blow into the device as you normally would to keep the vehicle running. If you are uncomfortable providing a breath sample while driving, Intoxalock allows enough time (about six minutes) for you to pull over to submit your breath test.Which Interlock Device is the best? ›
The LifeSafer L250 is the most accurate, reliable, and affordable device on the market.Does intoxalock have a GPS? ›
Intoxalock Log Reporter is a secure password protected website that provides easy access monitoring. At a glance, Log Reporter displays sample history, BrAC readings, corresponding photos and GPS location, all in real time.What is the camera for on intoxalock? ›
The purpose of the camera is to document the identity of the person using the ignition interlock device. Typically, the camera is mounted on the windshield and captures the images of the person required to use an ignition interlock device.How do you disguise most discreet interlock device? ›
Hide an Interlock Device in the Car
Small Box: You could use a shoebox or other small cardboard box. You will need to trim the box so that the device and cable can be inserted through the bottom of the box. You can then store the box in the center console area of your vehicle.
If those reports indicate a failure to comply with interlock requirements, tampering, circumvention or certain other violations, you will receive notification from MVD extending your original interlock requirement for an additional six to 12 months.What are the interlock laws in Arizona? ›
When Arizona law mandates use of an interlock following a period of driver license suspension/revocation, you must have one installed by an MVD-authorized company and provide proof of the installation. MVD uses special forms and procedures to monitor drivers required to have the device installed.How do I get my restricted license after a DUI in Arizona? ›
If you requested a hearing with MVD and the suspension was upheld, you may obtain a restricted permit at any MVD office or Authorized Third Party Driver License provider after 30 days of your suspension have been served (if eligible).
Ignition Interlock Devices use sophisticated fuel cell technology to detect alcohol on your breath. But your favorite mouthwash could contain enough alcohol – as much as 27 percent, or 54 proof – to potentially cause a fail notification on your Ignition Interlock.
Vinegar – Some types of vinegar are made from wine and contain trace amounts of alcohol. Not nearly enough to cause impairment, but possibly enough to lead to a false positive.What not to eat before a breathalyzer? ›
- Spicy Foods. Spicy meals are constantly used as an example that will cause 'false positive' results in Interlocks. ...
- Sugary Foods. One of the most common culprits is yeast. ...
- Fruit & Fruit Drinks. ...
- Vinegar. ...
- Energy Drinks. ...
- Vanilla Extract. ...
- Mouthwash. ...
- Breath Spray.
Recall 3 means either there's curly cord or vehicle battery problems. The curly cord is what the head unit of your device connects to in your vehicle. Keep in mind that you should NOT ignore the Recall 3 reading on your device!What is the difference between fail safe and fail locked? ›
Fail safe locks are unlocked when the power goes out–i.e., they require power to lock the door. Fail secure locks are locked when the power goes out–i.e., they require power to unlock the door.What is the difference between fail safe and fail open? ›
For example, if a building catches fire, fail-safe systems would unlock doors to ensure quick escape and allow firefighters inside, while fail-secure would lock doors to prevent unauthorized access to the building. The opposite of fail-closed is called fail-open.What is error 1 on intoxalock? ›
1. Failed breath sample. This is the most common cause of lockouts. If you blow into the device and provide a sample with a breath alcohol concentration (BrAC) above what's allowed in your state, it will be read as failed and you won't be able to start your car.Can hand sanitizer fail an interlock device? ›
You may not have thought much about the handsanitizer that you used to disinfect your hands before getting in your vehicle,but it is a likely culprit for a failed test. Things like hand sanitizer,deodorizers, air fresheners, and perfume and cologne can result in falsepositives by an IID.What is ars 28 3511? ›
28-3511 - Removal and immobilization or impoundment of vehicle; Arizona crime information center database.Can someone else drive my car with an interlock in Texas? ›
The ignition interlock device cannot identify who is behind the wheel. That means that whoever intends to drive your car has to be taught how to properly operate the ignition interlock device. While it might be easier to disable the IID for other drivers, that's not how the process works.How much is breathalyzer in AZ? ›
We wrote previously about what a DUI costs in Arizona, and an interlock breathalyzer is just one of many costs you will face. The breathalyzer installation cost is typically $70 to $150 to install it in a car and then the monthly monitoring and breathalyzer calibration fees are between $60-$80 per month.
How much does an ignition interlock device cost in Florida? The monthly lease price for an ignition interlock device (IID, car breathalyzer, BAIID) in Florida is $95-125. With a free installation and no additional state fees, you could save over $100 if you choose Intoxalock Ignition Interlock as your IID provider.What is the interlock limit in Texas? ›
Texas Ignition Interlock Devices
The legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limit is . 08 percent. If anyone is found driving under the influence with a BAC above that limit, they risk a variety of penalties. There are administrative and financial penalties including license suspension and fines.
28-772 - Vehicle turning left at intersection. The driver of a vehicle within an intersection intending to turn to the left shall yield the right-of-way to a vehicle that is approaching from the opposite direction and that is within the intersection or so close to the intersection as to constitute an immediate hazard.What is the penalty for ars 28 3473? ›
A violation of ARS 28-3473 is a Class 1 misdemeanor (as opposed to a Class 1 felony). The crime is punishable by: a jail sentence of up to six months, and/or. a maximum fine of $2,500.What is the 30 day impound law in Arizona? ›
Arizona Revised Statute Section 28-3511 states that a peace officer has the right to remove and either immobilize or impound a vehicle for 30 days if he or she determines that the person driving the vehicle has committed a certain offense, such as: Driving under the influence (extreme DUI and aggravated DUI only)Are interlock cameras always on? ›
An ignition interlock camera only takes pictures at designated times. Typically when a user is powering up the interlock, taking the test, and starting the vehicle. Those photos are downloaded with the other ignition interlock data at the regular monitoring and calibration appointment.Which interlock device is the best? ›
The LifeSafer L250 is the most accurate, reliable, and affordable device on the market.